Glimpse of Gary Road in Byram

While working on my Suburban Digest article about the delay of the Gary Road paving project, it was important for me to get out and see the road for myself. Police Chief Luke Thompson was so kind enough to give me a tour of Gary Road between Terry and Siwell roads so I could see its poor condition. While riding over, Chief Thompson gave me some history of Gary Road and how it came to be so riddled with potholes. In the past 20 or so years, subdivisions and private properties have popped up adding to construction and school traffic on the two-lane road. I took some pictures of the worst parts of the road and I totally understand why citizens are so frustrated with Hinds County and the city is asking for their patience. Will the project begin before the end of the year?

Here’s the article from October 25: http://www.clarionledger.com/article/20121025/NEWS01/310250055/Byram-Gary-Road-project-stalled-city-asks-patience

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

